Fish n’ Chips

Golden fried, hot, lightly crisp on the outside, flakey and soft on the inside… nothing I like to splurge on quite as much as a delicious plate of fish n chips! 

Why the heck would I be writing about fried food here?!

I am all about balance! I don’t just preach it, I live it! You need to love your food, enjoy your life, find things that make you happy along your journey and sprinkle indulgence in with discipline. Notice I said “sprinkle”, not DUMP! 😉 I rarely ever eat something fried. But when I do, it’s a conscious decision and it will be something that just makes my heart so happy. Fish n chips for this girl! Not fish n salad (although I might start with that). Not fish n’ cole slaw. Nope. Gotta have those french fries or it’s no deal! 

I am, in fact, on a quest to find the best fish n chips in the Northwest! Trust me, if  a restaurant around here serves them, I’ve probably had them! 

Last weekend we went snowshoeing and stopped for fish n chips on our way home in Eugene.  They look delish don’t they?! Wellllllllll….they were on the greaser side. Fried doesn’t have to leave you with a heavy, greasy feeling after. Ugh. Not a fan. You have to be selective when you splurge! I don’t like just going for it and not LOVING my indulgence. That’s part of the trick. I feel you can really feel satisfied on less when it is DARN GOOD! 

One thought on GUILT really quick. I heard myself say as we were seeking out our fried dinner that day “I would NEVER feel guilty about fish n chips!” And it’s TRUE!! When you have something you allow yourself to splurge on and you are being smart about it (I don’t mean splurge as in binge and eat until your busting at the seams, or let the whole day go down the tubes with whatever floats your boat. Let’s be real! It’s about making controlled choices and feeling good about it!). The thing is, I never, ever, EVER feel an ounce of guilt about indulging when I’ve decided to go for it. No use in doing that to yourself. PLUS, if you are being reasonable and not eating your plate of food, plus your spouses and a dessert to top it off…there’s no reason to have remorse. Enjoy it!!!!!! Then move on and continue with your clean, healthy, super nutrient dense way of eating as usual! It’s all part of BALANCE!!!! 


Now…I’m curious…what is your favorite thing to splurge on?! 
Enjoy your day!

xoxo, Jess

Leave a Reply

